Tag Archives: paranormal my life in pursuit of the afterlife

Raymond Moody’s Paranormal: My Life in Pursuit of the Afterlife

When I set out to read this book, I honestly felt like it was something that I really should read, but wasn’t necessarily excited to read it. And even though I’ve read a bit about Moody in books, the list was lacking a title by Raymond Moody himself. So I cautiously jumped into Paranormal: My Life in Pursuit of the Afterlife (2012), his most recent book.

If you listened to my most recent podcast episode with the wonderful Karen A. Dahlman, or if you’ve been a reader of the blog for a while, you know I easily get lost in some esoteric language, and my head will instantly explode at the mere mention of things like “quantum mechanics” or “string theory”. It takes twice as long for me to read those books, because the first pass over the page sounds like the Charlie Brown teacher voice inside my head. Wah wah wah…

Raymond Moody (photo via www.fyi.tv)

Raymond Moody (photo via www.fyi.tv)

Fortunately I lucked out on this one, and I was sucked into the book. It really resonated with me. And if you watch one of the many videos of Raymond being interviewed (one is embedded below), he seems so sweet and down to earth, and I bet he could relate to anyone. Now I’m planning on picking up his first and most famous book, Life After Life.

If you don’t know much about Dr. Moody or his work, you should check out the site LifeAfterLife.com (though it seems to be having some technical issues at the time of this writing). He is often called “the father of the of the Near-Death Experience”, or NDE.

The book pretty much covers his life chronologically, including his childhood, his groundbreaking discovery and research of NDEs (and later, “shared-death experiences), the writing of his first book, personal health struggles, his research on past-life regression, and finally his facilitated apparitions research and his psychomanteum (the “Reunions Experiment”).

I must tell you, psychomanteums have always fascinated me, but after reading this book I feel like I need more on this topic. So… as if I needed more books, I just purchased his Reunions: Visionary Encounters with Departed Loved Ones as well. You know if I didn’t think those around me would have me committed, I’d probably have a psychomanteum constructed in my home next week. Ha! Seriously.

Here’s that wonderful video interview.

 

 

That is all. Onto the next two books, which I’m reading as homework for some future guest appearances on the podcast. Exciting! More to come. 

Peace Out!

 


5 of the Latest Books to Land on my Doorstep

Today I bring you the latest books to land on my doorstep. Have you read any of these? Do you have other recommendations? All book descriptions are taken from their Amazon pages, which you can get to by clicking on the book covers. Be sure to check out my Recommended Reading page for some of my recommendations and book reviews. 

 

Paranormal: My Life in Pursuit of the Afterlife by Raymond Moody, M.D. 

The bestselling author of Life After Life, Raymond Moody, offers a stunning, myth-busting memoir of everything he has learned in a lifetime studying “the other side” and our connection to it. The grandfather of the NDE (near death experience) movement, Raymond Moody has, in the words of Dr. Larry Dossey, author of The Power of Premonitions, “radically changed the way modern humans think about the afterlife.” Paranormal, essential reading for fans of Dannion Brinkley and Jeffrey Long, is “a thrilling and inspiring literary experience. Anyone who is not grateful for Moody’s immense contribution to human welfare ought to check his pulse.”

 

My Son and the Afterlife: Conversations from the Other Side by Elisa Medhus 

Elisa is perhaps most known for her website, ChannelingErik.com, and two years ago I featured the site in one of my earliest blog posts here at The Big Séance. One could spend days exploring this site and the many channeled conversations with Erik Medhus.  

Dr. Elisa Medhus never believed in life after death. As an accomplished physi­cian, she placed her faith in science. All of that changed after her son Erik took his own life and then reached out from the other side.

Intimate, heartbreaking, and illuminating, go on an incredible journey from grief and skepticism to healing and belief. Based on Medhus’s wildly popular blog, Channeling Erik, My Son and the Afterlifeprovides answers to the most universal questions of being human.

At once tragic and uplifting, Erik speaks from the other side with candor, wisdom, and depth as he describes his own experiences and provides new answers about the nature of souls, death, and the afterlife—answers that have the potential to change our lives forever.

 

Behind The Walls: A Historical Exposé of The Preston School of Industry by J’aime Rubio

J’aime Rubio is an investigative journalist, true crime writer, historian, and published poet. She is also the author of two blogs: Dreaming Casually and Hollywoodland Forever. I was somehow connected to J’aime when I was in the middle of my grave adoption project this last fall. Now a friend on social media, I can tell you that she is definitely my kind of nerd!

If you are a truth seeker, “Behind The Walls” is definitely a book you will want to read. It will open your eyes to the distressing secrets held deep in history behind those ominous walls of Preston Castle. It is a fact based account of murder, mystery and mistreatment. Many might wonder what actually happened to the former inmates and employees of the Preston School of Industry. You will learn about the startling treatment they received and the outcome of their lives. If you want to learn true history about Preston, read this book.

 

Creating Your Vintage Hallowe’en: Folklore and Traditions by Marion Paull

We are now six months away from Halloween, and it is NEVER too early to prepare! I’ll probably hold off and read these last two books in late summer. I also still have one left from last fall that I can’t wait to read. Check out Trick or Treat: A History of Halloween by Lisa Morton.

Full of spooky artworks, ephemera, vintage-inspired makes, rhymes and stories, Creating your Vintage Hallowe’en celebrates the folklore and traditions surrounding this delightfully unique holiday. Read how folk used to celebrate with dressing up, fortune-telling games, parties, and much pleasurable spookiness, and recreate your own vintage Hallowe’en with old-fashioned projects, including a carved Jack o’ lantern, a witch costume, and fun decorations for your home. Creating your Vintage Hallowe’en is packed full of little-known facts about the origins of Hallowe’en customs such as bobbing for apples and carving lanterns out of pumpkins, while the charming makes and vintage artworks featuring chubby, red-cloaked witches, sleekly silhouetted black cats, cute kittens, cheery goblins and smiling spectres, will inspire you to have your own vintage-style Hallowe’en celebration.

 

Halloween Merrymaking: An Illustrated Celebration of Fun, Food, and Frolics from Halloweens Past by Diane Arkins

Recipes, games, costumes, party ideas, and decorations, along with excerpts from vintage periodicals, show the gaiety that epitomized historic Halloween celebrations.

You might also like:

Recent Books to Land on my Doorstep (from Big Séance in Nov. of 2013)

Tow More Halloween Books from Lesley Pratt Bannatyne (Big Séance)

 

 

 

 

 

 


%d bloggers like this: